The Badass Heroine and Her Sidekick the Chinese Batman: The Epic Crush of Genie Lo

Asian Lit Bingo Reviews Banner

fangirl-favorites-fridays-banner

“So I didn’t handle the mugging as well as I could have.”

Today’s Fangirl Friday post is going to be about a book that just blew my mind. To be honest, I wasn’t really sure what to expect when I got this book at YallWest. I passed by the Pique booth where F.C Yee was signing, thought, “Cool, free signed ARC,” and that was that. However, I found out that I could use this book for my Asian Superhero MC space, and the rest was history. I am so glad I picked up this book at YallWest! It was completely and absolutely amazing. (Oh and thank you to Pique Beyond and F.C. Yee for this ARC. This has no influence on my review whatsoever.)

whats-it-about-etsy-type-lobster-banner

Take it away, Goodreads: The struggle to get into a top-tier college consumes sixteen-year-old Genie Lo’s every waking thought. But when her sleepy Bay Area town comes under siege from hell-spawn straight out of Chinese folklore, her priorities are suddenly and forcefully rearranged. Her only guide to the demonic chaos breaking out around her is Quentin Sun, a beguiling, maddening new transfer student from overseas. Quentin assures Genie she is strong enough to fight these monsters, for she unknowingly harbors an inner power that can level the very gates of Heaven. Genie will have to dig deep within herself to summon the otherworldly strength that Quentin keeps talking about. But as she does, she finds the secret of her true nature is entwined with his, in a way she could never have imagined…
what-did-i-think-banner

I give this book a full 10 stars and I want all of you to buy this book when it comes out in August of this year. Cue the fangirling and actual review.

I think the main reason why I love this book so much is because I truly connect to it. I could relate to Genie in so many ways, from the way her mom acts (the conversations were accurate down to the letter in some circumstances) to all that she says about her situation applying to colleges. I just felt seen and I haven’t felt this represented in a book very often at all.

One thing you have to understand about me is that I kind of grew up with Sun WuKong. Quentin is not kidding when he says that Sun Wukong is like the Chinese Batman. Every single year in Chinese school we would spent a whole month on the next section of Sun Wukong’s story, even watching the movie. So seeing him brought to life this way was really special for me. Oh but if you’re not familiar with the legend of the Monkey King, don’t worry. There is specific introduction to the legend and story of the infamous monkey.

Character-wise, I loved both Genie and Quentin. They both had a good mix of humor and drive, which made for a pretty badass demon extermination team. Genie in particular possessed a hard working attitude and was also a person who refused to take “no” for an answer. On the other hand, Quentin was a little bit more laid-back but was also hilariously awkward at times. He could be a jerk sometimes simply because he didn’t realize what he was doing  or saying was wrong, but he always apologized and corrected his mistakes. Such a dynamic duo made for a hilarious and action-packed adventure, although Yee somehow manages to temper it with the relatable everyday struggles of an Asian American teen.

All in all, I highly recommend this book to EVERYONE, especially Chinese American teens or those who love the legend and stories of Sun Wukong. I know this review is a bit early for an ARC, but I just couldn’t wait. You can be sure I’ll be promoting this book like crazy leading up to its release date though!

signature-banner

2 thoughts on “The Badass Heroine and Her Sidekick the Chinese Batman: The Epic Crush of Genie Lo

Leave a Reply

