All the Feels: Top Ten Books That Made Me Cry

top-ten-tuesdays-bannerToday’s Top Ten Tuesday (by The Broke and the Bookish) topic is a freebie, so I’ve decided to talk about the books that made me cry because why not? I seem to love making myself cry, especially recently, based on the number of books here that were read in 2016. Fun fact, before last year, I’d only cried in a book maybe once or twice. On the other hand, the amount of movies I’ve cried in…I cry in almost every single movie ever, especially Disney movies. Anyway, back to this list thing. If I have reviewed the book, a review shall be linked by clicking the picture. For once, these are in a specific order: from the most amount of tears that they produced. Let’s go!

Image result for clockwork princessClockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Kids, do not, under any circumstances, read this book at 2 am in the morning. Especially if it’s a reread and all the foreshadowing and the love for all the characters makes you cry every other page until the point that your eyes are so filled with tears that you can’t see a thing. Just don’t. The first time I read this book, my dad found my lying on the bed, curled up, crying and wailing about a certain character’s death. So why did I think that reading this at 2 am would be a good idea? That’s a good question. To be honest, I don’t really know.

img_6050The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

If you’ve read my review about this book, then you know how much I loved it as well as how much it made me cry. I may have just sat silently in my car for a good thirty minutes with tears streaming down my face. Just maybe. It shattered my heart into a million pieces, but that’s fine, right?

 

Image result for history is all you left meHistory Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

This book takes third place because first of all, I’ve never cried right smack in the middle of a book before. Not to mention the feeling of heartbreak throughout the entire book. My heart literally heart during almost all the “Today” sections and a few of the “History” sections too. If it weren’t for the happy “History” parts in the beginning, I would just been crying nonstop the whole way through. If you thought More Happy Than Not was sad, just wait till you read this book.

img_8299The Midnight Star by Marie Lu

Marie Lu is yet another master of breaking hearts. Champion made me want to through my book at the wall but The Midnight Star’s ending was just so sad yet hopeful at the same time that I couldn’t help but cry and then sort of smile through my tears and then cry some more. I mean I knew something like that would happen, but still.

IMG_5593All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

So I’ve actually met Jennifer Niven now (last week, but more on that later), and it was kind of sweet and amusing the way she kept apologizing for breaking our hearts. I kind of suspected the ending of this book, but I wasn’t sure if it would actually happen and that still didn’t relieve the pain.

 

img_6654Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

I never thought that I would actually cry in this book because I haven’t seen anyone say in their review that they cried during it. Fun story: I finished this book right before a tutoring session, and I was a mess, and it was just a very fun (read not fun) situation. It was worth it though, because this book was amazing!!!

 

IMG_5957The Rose & the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

This book actually didn’t leave a lot of room for crying in my case. There were maybe one or two chapters that made me incredibly sad, and the action picked up a lot, leaving no room for tears. I think I actually cried more because of who the character was/what he was feeling rather than an actual event, which was new. I also didn’t think I would ever cry over that character, but I guess that just goes to show how little I understand my feelings?

Image result for the heir bookThe Heir by Kiera Cass

I’m sorry, but I just need to take a moment to admire how pretty that dress is. And….moment over. I never thought the day would come when i would cry over a Kiera Cass book, but I guess that just shows how attached I am to the characters. Confession time: these books are my guilty pleasures. Just thinking one of the main characters possibly dying and the pain it would cause the partner was just heartbreaking since I’ve followed these books from the beginning. I wasn’t ready to let any of my babies go!

 

IMG_6513The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

This was another one of those books were I suspected, maybe even expected a certain event to happen.  Therefore, I was suprised to find myself choking up, although I am happy to report to those who haven’t read it yet that it does get better. But there were definitely some tears during that certain part!

Image result for aristotle and dante discover the secrets of the universeAristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

I actually debated about whether or not I should put this book on the list because it actually made me cry happy tears, not sad tears. I think that’s a first. But honestly, the ending of this book just made so unbelievably happy and my heart just felt so full and my smile was just so enormous. The next thing I knew, I was crying. I’ve decided to leave this here as the last book to remind you that sometimes tears can be because of happiness, and that things can and will get better!!!

That’s all for today! What books made you cry? Any on this list?

signature-banner

 

 

6 thoughts on “All the Feels: Top Ten Books That Made Me Cry

Leave a Reply

