The Ultimate YA Mashup: Red Rising

“I would have lived in peace. But my enemies brought me war.”

Today’s review is the start of an epic trilogy, the Red Rising trilogy. I started this series because I heard there were I knew there would be items related to it in my FairyLoot box (unboxing to come).  I binge-read this series in three days, since I was in the theatre for tech week and had a lot of time. This story is kind of like an epic mashup of all different kinds of YA books, plus something more.

Darrow is a Red, a member of the lowest caste in the color-coded futuristic society. Like his fellow caste members, he works all day, everyday, believing that he is making Mars more liveable for future generations. Bu he has been betrayed: humanity has already reached the surface generations ago. The Reds are nothing more than slaves to the decadent Golds. Driven by a longing for justice and the pains of lost love, Darrow gives everything up to infiltrate the legendary Institute, the academy for the next generation of Golds. He must compete for his own life, against the best of the society’s ruling class. He will bring down his enemies, even if he must become them to do so.

My favorite part of this book was the fantastic world building. This futuristic world was so lush, from the technology to the Colors system. My one complaint about this was that most of the terms were not explained very clearly, and that led to some confusion on my part. For example, I didn’t fully understand what the razor was in this world until book 3. I mean maybe it’s just me, but I thought that it was just a normal razor. Oops? Anyway, besides that, all the different components, from the competition portion like the Hunger Games, to the Greek god inspirations like Percy Jackson, all meshed together very well. Our hero Darrow, was so remarkable that he was unremarkable if you know what I mean? While I did enjoy seeing his schemes and clever mind, it seemed like he was almost too perfect. I actually enjoyed some of the other characters more, from Sevro, the little bastard, to Mateo, with his sass.  The plot moved along pretty well, and though the game seemed relatively drawn out, it still had enough twists in it to keep going, all the way until the very last cliffhanger.

I know this review is relatively short, but there are two other books to flesh out but a series summary, so that’s all for today!

Leave a Reply

