May I Return to the Beginning?: 6 Month Blogiversary!

IMG_7852.JPGThree days ago (Monday) was my 6-month blogiversary. I can’t believe it’s already been six months!!! How time flies. So for today’s Thinking Thursday, in celebration of this “momentous” occasion, I shall be telling you the story of how this blog started. By the way, that blog title is in reference to a fantabulous musical called “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat.” If you haven’t listened to the music yet, I highly recommend doing that now. It’s amazing!

I guess it probably all started with me finally reading The Mortal Instruments about a year ago. One of my really close friends kept recommending it to me and talking about it, so I finally took the plunge. (Spoiler alert: She just finished finally reading The Infernal Devices today. This time, I pressured her into reading it.) Anyway, I fell in love with the series, so when Cassandra Clare came to Los Angeles for her Lady Midnight launch event, I jumped at the chance. My dad and I woke up super early and got in line at around 6 am. Even then, we were maybe 100th in line? Anyway, later that evening, when I waiting for the talk/signing to start,  I met some other people who were huge bookworms, which was actually a novel (haha) experience for me. I have some friends who like to read, but only one or two who are as obsessed as I am. Anyway, one of them was a BookTuber and bookstagrammer. After the event, (which was super fun by the way), I started following bookstagram accounts. That’s how I found out about Y’allwest.

Disclaimer: I only got to attend Yallwest for a few hours, but those were a glorious three hours. In that short amount of time, I got a ton of swag/books, met a lot of other bookworms, attended a keynote with Tareheh Mafi and Marie Lu, and got a book signed by Marie Lu. I think Yallwest really opened my eyes to how fabulous the book community truly was.

After a week of debating back and forth, and after much gentle pushing from my friends, I finally decided to take the plunge and start a bookstagram. A few days later, I decided, “Why not?” Thus, this blog was formed. Six months later, I do not regret this decision at all. I love book blogging so much. I’ve met so many wonderful people, gotten recommended a ton of beautiful books, and just had a great time in general. I’m looking forward to many more years and months of blogging, and I hope you’ll be there with me!

One thought on “May I Return to the Beginning?: 6 Month Blogiversary!

Leave a Reply

