Snow White, But With Dragons!!!: The Shadow Queen

IMG_6592.JPGIt feels like I haven’t done a review in forever, even though I just posted one on Sunday. Earlier this week, I created a poll on Twitter asking which books I should review first, and The Shadow Queen won by a slim margin. The rest will get reviewed later this week. Do you think I should continue this polling system? Also, how beautiful is this cover?!?!?!

The crown princess/fugitive’s goal is to kill the evil queen who killed her father and stole the Ravenspire throne. To complete this mission, Lorelai Diedrich will need to use what she and the Queen Irina both have: magic. Lorelai has to be better in every way, even if Irina is the most dangerous sorceress in Ravenspire. Ever. Meanwhile, Prince Kol’s father and older brother are killed in an invasion by magic-wielding ogres. The second-born prince must suddenly save his kingdom-with magic-but the only way to get it is by making a deal with the queen of Ravenspire. He must bring her Lorelai’s heart. Lorelai is nothing like Kol expected and Lorelai too is drawn towards the young king. Lorelai fights this attraction, trying to stay one step ahead of the dragon huntsman, and does everything in her power to ruin Queen Irina. But the queen isn’t going to back down, and her final move may destroy the few things the princess still has left to lose.

This book was exactly my type: a Snow White retelling with magic and dragons. The Snow White story was pretty much kept the same, so I knew what was going to happen in the back of my mind, but it was still a thrilling ride. There was enough twisting of the story that I was never quite sure exactly what would happen next, and I was basically never bored. The magic was the most fun to read about, and the whole concept of the way to speak to an object’s heart rather than force it to do your bidding was really interesting. Speaking of magic, I loved Lorelai’s bond with her gyrfalcon, Sasha. Sasha was so sassy but also so protective of Lorelai, and to be honest she was probably my favorite character. Lorelai was very fierce but had a slightly gentler side to her, which played a huge role in her magic. She and Kol had started to fall for each other, and while I can’t say that I totally ship it with no regrets, they were cute together. Kol was just as fierce as her, but my favorite part about him was that he is a dragon. I still can’t get over that. As you can see, I’m obsessed with dragons. Almost as much as pandas. But not as much as. That’s crazy talk. Anyway, I digress. The queen Irina was an interesting character, but I do wish we got a little bit more backstory for her. The ending on this chapter of the Ravenspire series was pretty definitive though, so that’s probably not going to happen.

If you like dragons and magic and Snow White, then this book is for you. I can’t wait to revisit this world in the next book, even though it’s a different tale with different character. Maybe some of these characters will be in Book 2 though!

P.S. Remember that tomorrow is a special blog post in honor of my recent blogiversary! I’m so excited!!!!

3 thoughts on “Snow White, But With Dragons!!!: The Shadow Queen

Leave a Reply

