The Forgotten Part: Root

Root.jpg

Ok, I feel really, really, really bad about this. I got a request to review this book way back when and then a bunch of stuff happened. I went on vacation, and then an unofficial blogging hiatus, and then I had a ton of review backlog. So today I’m finally, finally reviewing this book. Also, a big thank you to Liliana Marchesi for providing me a review copy and being really patient about this. Infinite apologies for the delay.

Here’s the synopsis by the author herself for you:

A dystopian saga built on the belief that man knows about and uses only a fraction of the brain’s real ability.

A saga in which heart and mind collide against a backdrop of unrest, passions, plotting, and extreme actions.

A story that will shock you! A perfect world where there is no place for crime.

A flawless system, the Mind, which has been able to eradicate the corruption from society and give everyone a peaceful and happy life. Of course, the differences between social classes are still there, but everyone is given the opportunity to live with dignity. Only a scourge afflicts humanity: the numerous and unexplained infant deaths which no one seems to care much about. No one but Kendall, who finds herself unwillingly involved in the incredible truth that lies behind these deaths.

On a cold night in Brooklyn, Kendall Green’s life will be upset by an unexpected encounter that will reveal the existence of the Orphans, a secret faction that has managed to escape the control of the Mind and who will do anything to bring this empire of lies to the ground.

 

You know, we always hear that humans only use 10% of our brain. This fact always interested me, but I didn’t quite know what to make of that. So, if we only use a tenth, then why exactly do we have the rest? What’s the purpose of it and why don’t we use it? If we did use that other 90%, what could we achieve? Is there a way to ensure that we use all of it? This book was very imaginative, and it answers all these questions and more. It had a very interesting premise, and the story was executed quite well. The plot moved pretty quickly, and there were almost no dull moments. Being the scaredy cat that I am, I refused to read this with the lights off, especially with the catacombs scene in the beginning. Kendall Green, our heroine was quite a brave character for going into the catacombs, because I definitely would not have been able to do that, even if my life were at risk. I think she also adapted really well to the situations she was thrust into, which I admire. I do think she pined for Trevor a bit much, but if he’s as alluring as described in the book, I guess I can’t really blame her. My chief complaint about this book was that the writing was a bit weird in places. There were times where I had to reread the sentence a few times to discern what it meant. Besides that though, I don’t really have any other negatives! To get you started, below are a few excerpts for you to enjoy.

“What makes us unique is the freedom to be ourselves. If you take away this… it is as if we are condemned to live in nothing but death’s wake.”

“My ears were completely immersed in the water and the roar of the latter combined with the glimmer of the stars between a cloud and the other made it easy for me to slide in and out of consciousness. I sensed what was around me, but I didn’t really register it. The burning had not yet ceased to devour me from within, pinching my nerves as if they were violin strings. And the feeling of drifting was making me lose hope of being able to somehow save myself.”

“The way the flames danced reflected in the eyes of the mysterious stranger in front of me hypnotized me, chaining us.

Who are you?

What is your name?

And why did you bring me here?

These questions swirled in my throat like crazed moths stuck in a glass jar from which they would never escape. And the more I tried to unscrew the lid separating them from freedom, the more impregnable the jar became.”

I hope these excerpts pique your interest, as I quite enjoyed this book. Root and its sequel are available online most places where books are sold.

4 thoughts on “The Forgotten Part: Root

Leave a Reply

