Nineteen Years Later: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Today is the death day anniversary of James and Lily Potter, the night that You-Know-Who was almost vanquished. You know, because you didn’t have enough reminders already . Thus, I bring you my review of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, three months later. I actually read this the day after it came out, but being me, I’m quite behind with my blogging and am not getting around to it until now.

My feelings on this are kind of complicated. I had a really hard time rating it. First of all, it’s a Harry Potter book. That alone is of great importance to me. I simply adore the Harry Potter series; it’s my favorite book series ever. This means that I will automatically read almost anything and everything related to Harry Potter and most likely love it. That also means however, that I have significantly higher expectations for Harry Potter. On the one hand, I loved seeing all the characters all those years later. It is probably almost any fangirl’s ultimate dream to see their OTPs and favorite characters in the future, living happily ever after. Although I wouldn’t quite call it happily ever after in this case.  However, it felt like there were some things that were off about them. I felt like Ron was kind of relegated to comic relief, which was unfortunate because he is so much more than that. Hermione was as terrifyingly competent as ever, and it was a treat to see her as Minister of Magic. That much hasn’t changed. Harry was also extremely rude to Albus in significant portions of the play, and I feel like that is out of character. Yes, Harry obviously has trauma, and yes, he does have quite a temper, but given how badly he was treated by the Dursley’s, I have a hard time believing that he would act that way towards his own son. Dumbledore also said some things that were not quite right. I know that the dialogue was not written by J.K. Rowling herself, and that some things would probably make more sense onstage, but it was still disorienting seeing some of those behaviors. For the new/newer characters, I had mixed thoughts. First of all, I loved Scorpius so much!!! Hands down my favorite character in this play. I feel like he’s just such a cinnamon roll! ALSO, AM I THE ONLY ONE WHO SHIPS HIM AND ALBUS?!?!? Continue. I also really loved the moments between him and Draco. Draco in this play was really awesome, and I think he redeemed himself even more here. I’ve never been solidly convinced about him, but I think this did the trick. Albus was okay, and I understood where he was coming from, but I feel like I didn’t really connect with him as much. I think this is partially because of the play format. There are all the little details that I really missed, the little descriptors, and that made it harder to connect. Anyway, back to the characters. Rose kind of popped in and out, but I honestly thought she was kind of bitchy, especially to Scorpius WHO  DOESN’T deserve that!!! Delphi was an interesting case. She was a little flat, but I could see where she was coming from and her motives. Although, the plot lines of her origin/birth?!?!? Who, what, how, why?!?!? That part was kind of far fetched to me. *SPOILERS AHEAD* Some other parts that felt wierd: the trolley witch thing, the whole time traveling thing, and just some of the AU stuff in general. *SPOILERS FINISH* 

I felt like this was basically a mashup of fanfiction, or as Soman Chainani called it, Harry Potter all-stars. I still enjoyed it though, and recommend it for any Harry Potter fanatics! Finally, I would like to apologize for the unorganized mess that this is, but my thoughts really were just a jumble with this book.

One thought on “Nineteen Years Later: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Leave a Reply

