Things that Go Bump: Creatures of the Night Book Tag

Since tonight is the night before Halloween and I have a (relatively) special post already planned for tomorrow, I thought I’d do another book tag. This tag is a Creatures of the Night Book Tag, and basically your supposed to pick your favorite book that contains each creature. This might be a bit hard since I don’t really read horror, but I’ll try! Thank you to The Sassy Book Geek for tagging me. Also, please please please recommend more non-scary books with these creatures in them!

Vampire

Image result for carry on book Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

I’m not going to say who, but if you’ve read the books you know who the vampire is! I haven’t read very many vampire books to be honest. I think I’ve actually only read this, Harry Potter (although there’s only like one vampire) and Cassandra Clare’s books, although I am hoping to read Julie Kagawa’s Blood of Eden series soon.

 

Werewolf

Image result for the mortal instrumentsThe Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

Again, I don’t think I’ve read very many werewolf books either. I think I’ve only read Harry Potter and this series. While I love both to death, I do think it’s kind of pathetic. I definitely need to read more paranormal books!

 

 

Zombies

Image result for magisterium seriesThe Magisterium Series by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black

Again, I don’t read horror. Like ever. Which means that I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with legit zombies in it. (I mean the brain eating kind.) One of the closest that I could come up with was the Chaos Ridden in this series. They won’t eat your brains (I don’t think they will at least), but they are undead and basically mindless.

 

Ghost

Image result for harry potter books imagesHarry Potter by J.K. Rowling

It is notoriously hard to find books with ghosts in them. I wasn’t even sure what exactly constitued a ghost. Sure, I’ve read lots of books with spirits in it, but with the actual word ghost? This is one of the very few books that actually outright mentions that there are ghosts, rather than spirits.

 

Witch/Warlock/Spellcaster

Image result for the night circusThe Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Finally a category where I know a lot of books! This book first popped into my mind because the spellcasters are at the very center of it. I simply adore so many things about this book, but more than half of it would not have been possible without the magic nor the spellcasters.

 

 

Fairy/Fae

Image result for iron fey seriesThe Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa

Again, there are so many options for this! I feel like I’ve read tons of books with fairies or fae in it, but I’ve decided to go with this one for now. I am desperately in love with this series, not least of all because of Ash…I will say though that I loved how modern it was. Many series revolving around fae take place in a high fantasy setting, but this incorporates modern-day technology right into Faerie.

 

 

Demon

Image result for kane chroniclesThe Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan

Again, I wasn’t really sure what to classify as a demon? Are monsters considered demons? Because if so, there are no shortage of those. Regardless, there are literal demons in this series, and you probably know by now how much I love Rick Riordan’s writing, so here you go!

Angel

Image result for unearthly cynthia handThe Unearthly Series by Cynthia Hand

I read this series a long time ago, so I don’t remember much of the details. I remember enjoying these books and that there are legitamite angels on earth, but I should probably reread soon.

Aliens

Image result for ender's gameEnder’s Game by Orson Scott Card

I never realized how vastly underrepresented aliens are in the YA community. I mean, yes, I don’t read a lot of sci-fi, but you almost never hear about aliens in the bookish community. Food for thought…Anyway, I also read this book a long time ago, but I do remember mentions of buggers, or aliens.

Superpowered Human

Image result for the young elites trilogyThe Young Elites Trilogy by Marie Lu

A.K.A the books that most recently broke my heart. I mean, I was kind of expecting it, but still. Anyway, more on that in my upcoming review. I think superpowered humans are becoming more and more common, and I’m really happy about that because magic!!!

So there you go! There’s my pre-Halloween post. I hope you’ll be seeing more book tags in the future, especially since I’ve been slacking. If you have a blog and are reading this, I tag you! You are obviously under no obligation to complete it, but I would love to read your responses.

One thought on “Things that Go Bump: Creatures of the Night Book Tag

Leave a Reply

