Reaching the Horizon: In the Afterlight

img_6583Now, weeks later, it’s time for the final book in the Darkest Minds Trilogy. I’ll be honest. I feel like I had a really weird relationship with this series. On one hand, I know a lot of people who love this series and I felt like disliking would make me a disappointment somehow. On the other hand, one of my friends and I both felt like it just had too many cliches. Maybe that’s a product of binge-reading so many books over the summer, but it really just felt like a mishmash of several different plots. It’s a shame because I really loved the premise of these books. Anyway, more on that later…

*Spoilers for the rest of the series* Fractured by an unbearable loss, Ruby and the kids who survived the government attack on Los Angeles travel north to regroup. With them is Clancy Gray, son of the president, and one of the only people with Ruby’s abilities. Only Ruby can control him, and just one mistake could lead to Clancy controlling everyone. they have only a volatile secret: proof of a government conspiracy to cover up the real cause of IAAN, the disease that killed most of America’s children and left the rest with inexplicable powers. But internal fighting may destroy their only chance to free all the kids from the “rehabilitation camps.” Reunited with Liam, Ruby must face the consequences of having tampered with his memories of her. She turns to his older brother, Cole, for the training she knows will be necessary to take down the government. But Cole has his own demons, and one mistake may set everything else on fire.

Continuing my thoughts from above, I did think their was something about the book that made me feel like it was just cliche after cliche after cliche. I don’t really know what, but looking past that, I will say that it’s redeeming qualities were some of the characters. Ruby was really strong given her circumstances, but she did somehow feel a little bit one-dimensional. There was one section where she was telling a story to other girls and I feel like this really gave her a bit more character, so I wish there were more scenes like this elsewhere in the book. I also wanted to punch Liam in the face for the majority of the book because while I understand that he’s upset with Ruby, and he has a right to be, I also feel like he hasn’t really tried to put himself in her shoes. I do really adore Chubs and Vida though, so they were probably my favorite part of this whole book. They really stole the show, and their combined sassiness was almost too much to handle. I almost feel like there wasn’t enough of them. That’s a shame because I think they would have helped the book progress a little bit more. The pace of this book felt a bit draggy because I felt like we were going in circles a little bit.

This review is a bit ambiguous, and I realize that. You also may be wondering why I gave this book such a high rating given my amount of complaining. I think that in comparison to the other books, there was a lot of growth in many areas, and that was a big factor. Additionally, the book had a pretty conclusive ending, which usually gets higher points in my book. Although I will probably not be rereading this book anytime soon, I do definitely recommend it because I know that a lot of others really enjoyed it.

One thought on “Reaching the Horizon: In the Afterlight

Leave a Reply

