A Spark, a Catalyst, and an Ember: An Ember in the Ashes

So, being the brilliant genius that I am, I didn’t realize that I had forgotten to post my AEITA review until after I had already written my Torch please post. I’ve been meaning to review this book for ages, but I kept forgetting. Since the first time I read it way back in May, I’ve reread it two or three times, so for the first time, my review is a mishmash of reads. But finally, here it is!

I must confess, the first time I read this book I couldn’t stand Laia. I found her so whiny and quite frankly, just plain annoying for some reason. Maybe it’s due to the number of almost stoic heroines I’ve read recently, but her strength seemed to pale in comparison. After rereading this book however, she began to grow on me. I began to admire her determination and strength, especially given the circumstances, and I have no idea why I disliked her before. On the other hand, Elias and Helene were instant favorites with me, especially Helene. I found the constant moral struggle with Elias so intriguing, especially when in comparison with the steadfast Helene. It really presented such an interesting question of duty, loyalty, and morality. Elias was just so compassionate and it was almost heartbreaking to see him in such brutal circumstances where he might have otherwise thrived, not just physically, but emotionally. I am however, completely Team Helene. She stole my support from day one, as well as my pity to some extent, although she definitely doesn’t need it. To be honest, I was rooting for Helene and Elias the whole first book, even though I knew it was destined to fail. The best friend never gets the love interest. On the other ened of the spectrum, I also found myself really liking Izzi. She and Helene seem almost complete opposites, but they really have so much in common: fierceness, loyalty, and compassion. My favorite parts of the book were probably the Trials and the Moon Festival, but there  was never a dull moment in the book. This was partially due to an extremely well developed world, replete with magical creatures. The jinn were especially interesting to me, and I couldn’t wait to see them in the next book!

All in all, while I enjoyed the next book more, this book really grew on me. I really enjoy it now, so if like me, it’s not to your liking at first, go give it another try!

One thought on “A Spark, a Catalyst, and an Ember: An Ember in the Ashes

Leave a Reply

