(Psi)chic Abilities: The Darkest Minds

img_6580It’s time to finally start my backlog of books to review! This summer, I made it my goal to try and read as many hyped books as possible. I’ve been hearing about The Darkest Minds trilogy for ages, so I was kind of excited to read it! The description too seemed really interesting. But…

On Ruby’s tenth birthday, something in her has changed. Something that scared her parents enough to lock her in their garage and call the police. She may have survived the disease that killed most of America’s children, but she has emerged instead with frightening abilities that she could not control. Now sixteen, she’s one of the most dangerous ones, and she barely escapes Thurmond, the brutal government “rehabilitation camp,” with her life. She’s desperate to find the safe haven for kids like her-East River-and she now joins with kids who have escaped with her own camp. Liam, the leader of this little group, is falling for Ruby, but she doesn’t dare to get involved with him after what happened with her parents. When they finally get to East River, nothing is what it seems, least of all its leader. But there are forces at work: people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby against the government. Ruby is faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at a life worth living.

There was just something about the book that didn’t seem to flow. Personally, most books with scenes of hiding in the woods make me impatient and make the story seem really slow. The Darkest Minds was full of woods scenes, and there were a lot of parts that just felt like they were dragging a bit. The premise of the story was very intriguing, albeit a bit implausible, but I always have a soft spot for novels involving kids with power. Ruby was a kid who was surprisingly strong for someone given her circumstances, but her character did feel a little flat to me. Liam was a swoon-worthy guy, although Chubs was the one who really stole my heart. I don’t know what it was about him, but something about him manner was just really charming for me. Finally, Zu was my favorite of all the characters. She was so cute and had so much quiet strength, even though she had gone through so much trauma.

All in all, although there were some parts of the book that I had some problems with, I still recommend it to those who are fans of dystopian novels. I certainly liked it enough to continue the series, so go give it a try!

Leave a Reply

