A Crew of Six: Six of Crows

img_6279Okay, I’m back again! This time, if I disappear for more than two days without notice, please yell at me. Like seriously, email me, comment me, tweet at me, something. Otherwise, I’m just going to disappear down the rabbit hole again.  Where was I you might ask? Well… first I went on a long vacation (mostly to London), and then I came home and was super busy with rehearsals, and then I went away for a performance, and then school started, and then I got sick. And now we’re here! I thought would catch up with my  reviews of books I read in the summer first, so for this Favorites Friday, we’re going to start with Six of Crows!

Fun fact: Leigh Bardugo is apparently an alum of my high school! I congratulate her because my school is definitely not a walk in the park. Anyway, this book is my favorite of hers, and it has made it to my top 10 of all the books I’ve read this year. Considering that all the books I’ve read come highly recommended by the book community, this is no small feat. This book is just absolutely perfect. 

In Ketterdam, you can buy anything you want-for the right price, of course. Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker knows this better than ever, and one day he is offered a heist that could make him rich beyond imagination. The catch? It’s one of the most deadly break-ins ever. Kaz can’t pull this off alone. A prisoner eager for revenge. A sharpshooter addicted to bets. A runaway with former privilege. A spy slippery enough to be called the Wraith. A Heartrender using her gifts for survival. A thief who can escape almost anything. This crew of six is the last defense before the world they know is destroyed…but they have to survive each other first.

The best part of this book is undoubtedly the characters. The six main characters are all loveable in their own ways. They really are all different, and each of them has their own backstories, as well as an individual outlook on life. The book was written from the perspective of five of them, and they each brought something special to the story. I loved watching the dynamics between the six unfold as time progressed and they became closer to each other. I especially loved the romance, although most of it was quite subtle, which leaves room for a lot of development in Crooked Kingdom. It’s actually quite refreshing to not have insta-love but instead actually see the chemistry develop, even in the couples that have no each other for a long time. I ship them all so much though, especially Jesper and Wylan because they are just too adorable. Speaking of the characters, there were also some mentions of characters from the Grisha trilogy that had me squealing when I read about them! That’s another thing I loved: this duology is set in the same world, so it was easy to settle into, but certain developments bent the rules and played with the foundations that already seemed established which was refreshing. My other favorite part of the book was the plot though. It was action-packed, and it involved plenty of heists, which I love! The first rule of heists; anything that can go wrong will go wrong. The thing is, Kaz Brekker seems to have everything figured out and planned out, so that just when your think everything is going to pieces, the story takes a sharp turn, which makes the ending just 😱. I was just speechless.

Crooked Kingdom comes out on September 22!!!! (Yes I have that date memorized because the ending here is just brutal and I need the next book now!!!!!!) If you haven’t read Six of Crows, put everything down and go, go, go!!! 

2 thoughts on “A Crew of Six: Six of Crows

Leave a Reply

