Spell Books: The Harry Potter Tag

I know The Sassy Book Geek tagged me almost a month ago, but time got away from me. However, with the release of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child yesterday, I thought this was an appropriate time to finally write this. Enjoy!

Flagrate: Writing Charm (A book where you found the theme interesting, but you’d like to rewrite it.)

I’m going to be honest with you here. I did think the idea for this book, especially the kids’ special powers, was very interesting. This idea and the certain characters prompted me to give this a higher rating that I would have. I don’t want to steal thunder from my reviews, but the book itself just had way too many cliches. To be honest, it kind of felt like a combination of a lot of different books and tropes rather than a whole new story with different concepts and ideas.

 

Alohomora: Unlocking Charm (The first book in a series that got you hooked.)

I honestly cannot tell you how much I love this series!!! From the first book I was hooked: by the characters, the vibrant world, the plot, and even the writing itself! Plus, I’m a sucker for most things Wonderland, even though I didn’t like the original Alice in Wonderland very much…

 

Accio: Summoning Charm (A book you wish you could have right now.)

There are way too many to put pictures of all of them here, but let me just list a few: Harry Pottter and the Cursed Child, A Torch Against the Night, The Bronze Key, Empire of Storms, Crooked Kingdom, Holding Up the Universe, The Hammer of Thor, The Midnight Star, Heartless, Roseblood, ACOTAR 3, Lord of Shadows, and Chain of Thorns.

 

Avada Kedavra: Killing Curse (A killer book. Both senses. Take it as you like.)

All three senses actually: it was a killer (wonderful) book, there was a lot of killing, and the book itself killed me (more like ripped my heart and soul into a thousand pieces.) It’s beautifully written: it almost flows like a song, and the story itself was so moving. Ok, there was not a lot of killing, but it felt like it because I love the people who died so much!!!!! Which leads to my last point: I was sobbing by the end of this book. Full-on sobbing, book-slump-inducing sobbing. But I don’t regret it at all.

 

Confundo: Confusing Charm (A book you found really confusing.)

This book just flat-out confusing for me. There’s really no other way for me to describe it. It just left me feeling really confused. I know a lot of people liked it, so maybe I’ll try it again.

Expecto Patronum: Patronus Charm (Your spirit animal book.)

Yes, it’s a children’s book, but it’s all about a lonely but mischieveous panda named Beckett. I can be childish too, especially when it’s late at night or I’ve had a lot of sugar. I obviously love pandas, and I can be quite lonely sometimes. Also, I have been known to cause trouble sometimes…

Sectumsempra: Dark Charm (A dark, twisted book.)

This was just full of so many twists and turns. There seemed to be murder every other chapter, and it was full of lots of schemes and betrayal.

Aparecium: Revealing Charm (A book that surprised you in a great way, reveals to be more than it is.)

I’ve never been a steampunk lover, and I knew these books were set in the Victorian Era, which I hadn’t really read a lot of. Even when I started I had a hard time reading it. I persevered though, and by the middle of Clockwork Prince I started to really like it. Lo and behold, six months later, I’m rereading the whole series. Last night in fact, at 2:30 in the morning, I was sobbing every few pages. In fact by the fateful last few pages, my eyes were so blurred that I couldn’t even see the screen.  I even sent two texts to my friends last night, “I have concluded that reading The Infernal Devices late at night is not good for my emotional health,” as well as “DAMN THIS BOOK IT IS 2:30 IN THE MORNING I SHOULD NOT BE BAWLING MY EYES OUT!!!” As you can tell, I’m now very attached to these characters and love these books so much.

If you haven’t done this yet and have a blog, you’re tagged. Have fun!!!

 

Leave a Reply

