Fighting the Chill: Shiver

IMG_6515“I remember lying in the snow, a small red spot of warm going cold, surrounded by wolves.”

Having been so satisfied with the previous books of Maggie Stiefvater, especially The Raven Cycle books, I decided to give her earlier books a try. I had very high expectations for these books especially coming The Raven King. I was actually a bit confused by the synopsis, but I quickly became engrossed with the story. It was not exactly the type of book I was used to, in addition to the writing style, but it was a pretty charming story.Honestly though, this book by itself probably could have been enough, but that’s talk for another time.

Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house for years. One wolf in particular. Sam lives two lives: a yellow-eyed wolf in the cold, the protection of the pack and a certain girl. In the heat, a few precious months of humanity until the cold steals him back. Every year, the same. Until Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy with heart-breaking familiarity. It’s her wolf. But winter is coming, and it’s soon a fight for Sam to stay with her or lose himself and Grace forever.

Like I’ve said, I wasn’t sure exactly what to expect from this book due to a slightly confusing synopsis, but I thoroughly enjoyed the story. The pair was so cute together, and their chemistry was quite well-developed. I was glad that I was able to read in both of their perspectives, although the switching between them took some getting used to. My favorite character though was Isabel Culpeper. Aside from her name being very close to mine, I loved her sassy attitude. She actually kind of reminded me of Isabelle Lightwood from The Mortal Instruments series. The story was well-paced with just the right amounts of romance and action. The setting of the story, which was an almost ordinary town, special only because of the wolves, was set up pretty well: a good backdrop for a boo that focused more on the characters’ growths.

All in all, this was a fresh take on the werewolf urban legends that seem so popular these days, just with the magic touch of Stiefvater’s writing. Again, while I enjoyed Shiver, and prefer The Raven Cycle, I still highly recommend it to everyone, especially lovers of werewolves.

 

 

Leave a Reply

