Do the Shuffle: Fantasy Favourites Read-a-thon Playlist Shuffle Quiz

Confession time: the Fantasy Favourites Read-a-thon challenges hosted by Inge and Aly of Of Wonderland and Olivia of Olivia’s Catastrophe ended two weeks ago, but I didn’t manage to complete any of the challenges except for this one. I didn’t even manage to meet my goal of 20 books! I only read a total of 15. (Cue the disappointed face.) I would have met my goal if I had managed to reread the whole Throne of Glass series, but let’s be honest: I only had about 2 or 3 hours of reading time daily. 20 books was probaby way too ambitious. Lesson learned. Lesson #2: rereading for me does not take less time. I think it might actually take more time for me than the first time! Bu enough rambling.

This task is a Playlist Shuffle Quiz. Basically, you write down the questions and put your playlist on shuffle. Whichever song comes up is the answer to your question. Warning: my playlist consists of ballet music, Broadway musicals, Frozen, and Taylor Swift’s 1989 album. This works (mostly) for the Throne of Glass series, but it is also applicable for the Percy Jackson series. You decide which works better!

This song describes the series you are reading:

“Stay Alive” from Hamilton

Pretty self-explanatory! I mean, isn’t that the whole point?

This song is what the love interest is caught singing at drunk karaoke:

“What Have I Done?” from Les Miserables

I mean I guess?  It’s a bit desperate, but I’m sure whomever the love interest of Celaena is at the moment has many times when they are questioning their sense of judgement, especially when she is having one of her many rebellious moments.

This song describes a battle scene:

“Yorktown (The World Turned Upside Down)” from Hamilton

Well, this is a battle song, so that is appropriate. Also, the overall goal of Celaena is to turn the world upside down, and she also usually wins her battles, so this actually works pretty well.

This song is playing whilst the main character walks through a wall of fire like a badass:

“The Schuyler Sisters” from Hamilton

I guess this would work pretty well? It more describes Celaena’s badass character rather than her walking through a wall of fire. She would definitely be a feminist, and she’s very intelligent and sassy. She’s actually kind of like Angelica Schuyler in my opinion. I think she might actually really enjoy this song.

This song describes the plot:

“Santa Fe” from Newsies

Celaena definitely has some moments of guilt where she blames herself for the harm done to others during her revolution, just like Jack. This is when she turns to fictional worlds, like those of books, as well as her dream to return to Terrasen.

During a battle, the characters are fighting to this song:

“Do You Hear the People Sing?” from Les Miserables

I think again that this matches the ideals of the books and the reason Celaena is usually fighting.

Battles! Magic! Possible murder! This song is playing when the plot thickens:

“When I Grow Up” from Matilda

I mean I guess? This song is about wanting to be able to do everything as a grown-up and being able to do whatever one wants.There is also a section about wanting to change the future by oneself. So when the big reveal happens, I guess this is sort of a theme? I don’t really know.

This song will most likely play at the worst possible moment:

“Wildest Dreams” by Taylor Swift

I don’t know. I really don’t.

This song describes your favorite character:

“I Never Planned on You/Don’t Come a-Knocking” from Newsies

Basically all the romance in this series is unplanned and more-or-less love at first sight. Most of them don’t plan in falling in love, and the dynamic between the couple in the song is basically the dynamic of many of the couples. Everyone is just so sassy! Which means it applies to basically any character, which is good because I can’t pick a favorite character.

This song is the finale:

All You Had to Do Was Stay by Taylor Swift

Celaena is heart-breaker. Seriously though. She has a new guy every single book, and she kind of just leaves the old one behind. So this song could probably be sung by all the guys about her. I guess this could be for the finale of the romantic plot?

What do you think? Do you agree with my explanations or are they too much of a stretch?

Leave a Reply

