Fragile Weapons: Glass Sword

IMG_6535.JPGHonestly, the ending of Red Queen left me a bit heartbroken. One of my favorite characters had just made some horrible decisions leaving the other characters wanting vengeance. While I don’t condone those actions, I was still very anxious to know how everything would play out. Of course, with just my luck, there was even bigger cliffhanger. Also, yes I know there’s a flash in the picture, but I left it there on purpose as homage to Mare’s abilities.

*May contains spoilers for Red Queen* Mare Barrow’s blood may be the red of the common folk, but her Silver abilities of being able to control lightning have made her weapon that the royal family has attempted to wield. They now call her an impossibility, but as she flees from Maven, once her friend, she discovers that she’s not the only one of her kind. Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, she attempts to recruit others of her kind to join in the rebellion. However, she finds herself on a slippery path where one mistake may eventually turn her into exactly the monster she hates. Mare must try not to shatter under the weight of all the lives sacrificed for the rebellion, but treachery and betrayal may have hardened her soul into a permanent darkness.

I actually don’t truly know why I didn’t like this book as much. I guess I got a little tired of all the running and the missions that Mare had to do. It’s obviously necessary to the plot, but I missed the court scenes. These other types of scenes felt a bit repetitive and tedious to some point. Also, I got frustrated with a lot of the characters in this book. Kilorn already annoyed me from book 1, and the times when he just kept ignoring Mare did not win him any brownie points. I was upset with Maven for all the horrible actions he kept taking. Cal was probably the love interest I was least annoyed with, but the back-and-forth was just a shipper’s nightmare. I still have no idea who I ship with Mare actually. At this point, it’s probably just by herself. I did enjoy getting to know Farley and Shade better. I actually really liked Farley. She had a strong commitment to the cause, and I thought it added to her depth that she was willing to bend the rules so long as she was still aiming towards the same goals. It was also nice to see more of the Shade that was so beloved by Mare. I think she really needed a big brother in a time like this, especially in light of her confused heart. He makes me cry, and if you’ve read this book, you know why! My favorite part of the book was probably meeting the rest of the so-called newbloods, or those who are like Mare (red blood with Silver abilities.) They all had such amazing abilities, and they all have untold potential. For example, I’m interested to see what Victoria Aveyard will do with Cameron as well as Jon. They are both incredibly powerful, but they are also both quite untrustworthy in my opinion.

Basically, while I didn’t enjoy this book as much, I’m still looking forward to King’s Cage. There are so many things that I’m anxious to see resolved, and of course the journey won’t be smooth. I’m definitely anticipating even more pain, but hopefully it will all be worth it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

