Silence is Golden: The Problem with Forever

IMG_6533.JPGI’m soooooooo sorry guys! I know I disappeared again, probably for the longest time since I’ve had this blog. It’s been a crazy week, what with volunteer hours and long summer intensives, but hopefully this won’t happen again. Get ready for another onslaught of reviews! This post was set for Mental Health Monday by the way. Yep, I’m that off schedule.

“Dusty, empty shoe boxes, stacked taller and wider than her slim body, wobbled as she pressed her back against them, tucking her bony knees into her chest.”

While I’ve seen Jennifer L. Armentrout’s books floating around the bookiverse, I’ve never actually read them. However, I’ve heard so many good things about The Problem with Forever, and I was looking for a new contemporary stand-alone, so I gave it a shot. The hype was definitely there for a reason, and I really enjoyed this book. It’s incredibly powerful book, and I simply couldn’t put it down. Even when I got a headache from our drive down Lombard Street. Also, shoutout to the Harlequin Teen people at YallWest for the poster and pin!

Some people use silence as a weapon, but Mallory Dodge, or “Mouse” uses it as a shield. After all, as a child, the golden rule was to say nothing. That was the only way to survive. Four years later, in a loving adoptive family, she struggles to overcome this fear. Her newest obstacle: spending senior year at high school after years of homeschooling. She’s imagined nightmare after nightmare, but there’s one she never even thought of: running into Rider Stark, her childhood friend and protector. It’s a daydream wrapped in a nightmare. Her connection with him never really vanished, but they’re both still struggling with past scars, even as Rider’s life spirals increasingly out of control. Mallory has a choice: stay silent or speak- for her loved ones, her future, and the truth.

There was something about this book that just felt so real and personal. I felt a real connection with characters, which meant this book took me on a really emotional rollercoaster. Everyone had an amazing amount of depth, but of course Mallory was my favorite. It was truly rewarding to see her personal growth and development, and I found myself rooting for her every second of the way. I instantly loved her from the first page, and I was in awe of how much strength she actually had. I loved the way that the full truth of her experiences were slowly revealed over the course of the book, as horrifying as they were, because with each new piece of memory, my picture of both her and Rider became clearer and clearer. Their chemistry was definitely plausible, and there was no insta-love! I mean, I’m not totally against insta-love, but it’s definitely refreshing when there is a history. Speaking of history, Rider is not a character to scoff at either. He is just as strong as Mallory, if not stronger, but he chooses to display it in a different way, usually even a self-depracating way. It broke my heart, but that just made his journey too all the more wondrous. The plot of the book did not seem to drag at all, mainly because I was so invested in everyone, and Jennifer L. Armentrout manages to create very realistic scenarios that are still very interesting to read about. One last thing: can we just agree on how beautiful the cover is? I love all the colors and different fonts on it!

If you’re looking to read emotional contemporary books that will nonetheless make you feel (mostly) happy at the end, this is your book! For those who also want books that deal with trauma or adoption in them, give this a shot. In general, everyone should just read this book. Period.

Leave a Reply

