Four Fierce Friends: The Raven Boys

IMG_6465.JPG

“Blue Sargent had forgotten how many times she’d been told that she would kill her true love.”

Again, this is a series that I’ve had people hounding me about for months, years even. However, I didn’t actually think about reading them until I heard all the raving about The Raven King earlier this year. Maybe I’m a masochist. In any case, I spent this last week binge-reading this series, finishing it in a whopping four days.While I liked The Raven Boys well enough, I think the series got increasingly better. So if you find The Raven Cycle is not a series that you’d like to continue after the first book, stick it out. As promised, by the time you reach The Raven King, you will be in awe of Maggie Steifvater.

Every year, on St. Mark’s Eve, Blue Sargent stands on the corpse road with her psychic mother, looking for the soon-to-be-dead. This year is different though: this year Blue sees her first spirit. Gansey is an extremely rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue is determined to say way from the so-called Raven Boys, who only cause trouble, but she can’t seem to stay away from Gansey. He is on a quest with three other Aglionby boys: Adam, a scholarship student resentful of the surrounding privilege; Ronan, the fiercest of them all with an extreme range of emotions; and Noah, a ghostlike watcher who notices much but says little. Blue has always been warned that she will cause her true love to die. That’s not a problem, because she does not believe in true love. However, with her increasing involvement with the strange and sometimes sinister world of the Raven Boys, nothing is sure anymore.

I really loved the personality of the three boys and Blue. They were all quite different from each other, so they did not seem like clones. Rather, they all had depth and background to each of them, and their characters seemed to mesh rather well together, although it may not seem like it. I was able to relate to each of them in a different way: Blue’s stubborness, Gansey’s extreme curiosity, Adam’s pride, and Ronan’s temperamental ways. You might notice that I’m not including Noah. He does not have as much personality and depth as the others, but there is a very specific reason for that. A reason that had me screaming, “Wait, what?” out loud as well in all-caps on Twitter. Speaking of twists, there was a good number of unexpected twists, as well as a lot of action without being overwhelming, which I appreciated. This was especially important because for me, the world-building and plot was a bit disorienting. I had trouble grasping a few concepts regarding Cabeswater. The fluidity of time, especially with regards to the perception of it in this book, also made me a bit confused, which is why I had a bit of a harder time with this book than I probably should have. I’m a relatively logical person, so worlds where there is not much reason are harder for me to get comfortable with. By the end of the novel, however, I felt much more settled. Well, until the bombshell on the very last page, but that’s why you binge-read!

2 thoughts on “Four Fierce Friends: The Raven Boys

Leave a Reply

