*Grabby Hands*: Top Ten 2016 Books to be Released

As weird as this sounds, I actually had a dream about a dream about this post. My current read of the Raven Cycle must be rubbing off on me. This week is a freebie, and I was going to do something about my top 10 OTPs, but I can’t even narrow my favorite series down to top 15, and each series has at least 3 different OTPs, so there was no way this would work.  Then I realized that since last week was my first Top Ten Tuesday post (they’re hosted by the lovely ladies at http://www.brokeandbookish.com/ ), I  didn’t have a chance to do my Top Ten 2016 Books that I’m looking forward to! Please keep in mind that all of these are from my auto-buy authors, but there are just millions of wonderful books being released this year!

So without further ado, my Top Ten Grabby Hands books of 2016 in order of release date!

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling: July 31, 2016

Harry Potter has been my favorite book series for ages, and for so many reasons! You can read my review about it for a full on rave, but it was my first of so many things, including my first fandom and more recently, my first review! It’s been nine years since Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows came out. I can still remember my parents buying the book from Costco, and it still sticks in my memory because they never buy books: they only borrow. We recently celebrated the nineteenth anniversary of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. This series is older than I am! It has touched countless lives, including mine, so it feels surreal to be going back into the Harry Potter world, through the eyes of a different generation! We really will be getting that nineteen years later…

The Bronze Key by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare: August 30, 2016

When I discovered Cassandra Clare’s books late last year, I binge read all of them. I just loved her writing and her books, so I made it my mission to read every single book that she’s written. Again, you can read my raving about the Shadow World in my previous review, but I want to focus on her Magesterium series, cowritten with Holly Black. The “school” setting is highly reminiscent of Hogwarts as well as Watford from Carry On, which I loved. I also enjoy reading about the characters, especially Tamara. The plot of these books is very interesting because they constantly take twists that defy my expectations and suspicions! While the first two books certainly were not lacking in action, according to the authors, this book will really be the turning point and set up the main direction of the plot for the rest of the series!

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir: August 30, 2016

I recently just finished An Ember in the Ashes (look for my upcoming review), and I loved almost all of it! Keyword: almost. If it weren’t for Laia, this book would be perfect in my eyes. It has a wonderful pace and plot, and I loved the world-building. I loved Elias, although my favorite character is definitely Helene. Something about Helene for me just screams, “Love me!” I definitely feel bad for her, especially concerning the last events of the previous book, but I’m looking forward to her point of view in ATATN! I’m also part of the minority who ships her and Elias, but I don’t care! Laia really annoyed me, and maybe it’s because I’ve gotten so used to courageous heroines, but she just seemed so whiny and got really annoying bery quickly. I get that she’s going through some super tough circumstances, but I just couldn’t get used to her! Hopefully there will be some (read: a lot) of character growth for her in the next book.

Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi: August 30 2016

First of all, can we just take a moment to admire how beautiful this cover is?!?!? It’s just so colorful! Second of all, is it just me, or are there a lot of books coming out on August 30? Third of all, I know this is a MG book, but I just couldn’t resist! I’m currently in possession of an ARC of this book, courtesy of Yallwest, and I couldn’t be happier! I’m loving it so far, although I do need to hurry up and finish it! Although let’s be honest here: anything by Tareheh Mafi, or any author on here for that matter, will be amazing! So far, I’m really loving the concepts and characters, and I doubt this will change! Tareheh Mafi has wonderful world-building and character skills: just look at the Shatter Me series! I mean, Warner is just perfect, and I loved seeing all the powers throughout the books. There is tremendous character growth (though not always positive), and I can’t wait to follow the journey of Alice!

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas: September 6, 2016

Warning: the next three books are guaranteed to cause emotional trauma. Without reading them, I already know, and guys, I don’t know if I’m ready for this book. I don’t exactly trust Sarah J. Maas after the emotional devastation and book slump bestower that was A Court of Mist and Fury. I mean, obviously this book will be amazing: all Maas books are. But it will definitely also be intense. The ending of Queen of Shadows was deceptive because it felt almost like a conclusion, but upon closer inspection, there are still so many loose ends that I can’t wait to see resolved. I also can’t wait to see all my babies again: Celaena, Rowan, Manon, Dorian, and Lysandra; even Chaol, although I wasn’t too big of a fan in the previous book. I’m also looking forward to seeing even more relationship growth from all these characters, whether platonic or romantic! The good thing is, there is still one last Throne of Glass book after this one, so it shouldn’t be too destructive. Key word: shouldn’t.

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo: September 22, 2016

First of all, red-stained pages. I repeat, red-stained pages. How gorgeous will that be? Six of Crows was just such an amazing book (review later tonight!), and honestly, I don’t know how Crooked Kingdom will top that. I mean, I know it will, because it’s Leigh Bardugo we’re talking about, but how will she do it? According to her, there are going to be deaths, and that really worries me, because I love all the main characters in this book, and ship them even more! None of them are super canon yet either nor are they really sailing yet, but I’m desperately hoping. And I mean desparately. I don’t know how I’m going to deal with these OTPs being broken apart, so I’m praying that she’s either bluffing, or the deaths will be not one of these main characters. Also, we’re getting a Wylan point of view. You don’t understand how much I love him, and even more so, how much I ship him and Jesper! It’s unreal. Also, I really hope the character they’re trying to rescue is safe because I’m still waiting for a declaration of love from a certain somebody. Just saying.

Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven: October 4, 2016

I’m also very scared for this book. I’m probably as scared as I am excited, and that is saying something. All these people have ARCs, and everytime I see them, my emotions are either, “Give it to me now!” or “Get it away from me!” Why? Because Jennifer Niven’s book All the Bright Places made me legitimately cry (again, see review). It made me feel so many things, because her writing is just so heartbreakingly beautiful. She writes about a lot of important and powerful topics in a way that engages you and makes you care a lot. Her characters feel so real, and I feel like I am actively in the story, experiencing everything not only alongside these characters, but through their eyes. I’ve heard no end to the amount of praise this book has already received, so I’m sure I will love it just as much as ATBP. Do you see those blue dots? Those are not raindrops. Those are tears. Tears I tell you! Tears!

The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan: October 4, 2016

If you didn’t already know, I’m a huge Rick Riordan fan. Huge! Contrary to what seems to be the popular opinion, I actually really enjoyed The Sword of Summer. I’m not really well-versed (read: not at all well-versed) in Norse mythology (read: I haven’t been inducted into the Marvel world), so unlike the Percy Jackson series or even the Kane Chronicles, I kind of plunged into these books blind. It was obviously a very different experience than already having a wealth of knowledge from which to draw on, and certainly made the beginning a bit disorienting, but it was actually kind of refreshing learning about this world from scratch. Magnus is also cousins with one of my favorite characters from the PJO series, and Rick makes good use of this connection. The ending of book 2 was just evil (although not as evil as the ending of Mark of Athena; nothing beats that), and there were hints of the consequences of this ending throughout The Hidden Oracle, so I can’t wait to see how that played out.

The Midnight Star by Marie Lu: October 11, 2016

Again, this is guaranteed to be yet another emotionally devastating book. First of all, it’s Marie Lu. Second of all, it’s the last book of the Young Elites trilogy (pssst: I also have individual reviews of the first two books). If you’ve read Champion, you will know why this is cause for concern. If Champion is any indication of how The Midnight Star will play out, then that alone means tears. Add to that the fact that the Young Elites trilogy is super dark and Adelina herself is just so twisted, then you have a tragedy just waiting to happen. I have so many questions that were raised in The Rose Society, especially that one involving their powers. If you’ve read this book, you know what I’m talking about! I’m really curious to see how that will play out and whether or not it can or will be resolved. I also have some ships that I’m determined to see sail. I don’t know if they’re even plausible, given the circumstances, but a girl can dream! Finally, can we just discuss the last line of The Rose Society? I literally got chills just reading it. That is the way to end a book!

Heartless by Marissa Meyer: November 8, 2016

I’m very interested in this book for a multitude of reasons. First of all, I love Marissa Meyer and the Lunar Chronicles series by her (my review of it is basically all just raving)! She’s a wonderful writer who builds dynamic characters and beautiful worlds. I’ve only ever read her TLC books though, so it will definitely be interesting to see her create an entirely different world, although it is still a retelling. Second, I’m a big of the Queen of Hearts and the Red Queen and just Alice in Wonderland adaptations and/or retellings in general, so this is definitely a subject of interest. Third, I love origin stories, especially those of villains.  There is just something so intriguing about reading different people’s takes on how they got to where they are today. Finally, this is pretty superficial, but I just love the cover of this book!

 

To close, I want to quote something I said on my Twitter the other day to Alexandra of Twirling Pages. 2016 is a great year for books and a horrible year for my wallet. In addition to so many books coming out by my favorite authors, there are also so many wonderful authors debuting this year! Everywhere I look, there seems to be a new book that I want to read. So tell me: do you have any auto-buy authors? Which books are your 2016 must-reads that you’re looking forward to?

 

4 thoughts on “*Grabby Hands*: Top Ten 2016 Books to be Released

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    This is a great list! I’m also really excited for A Torch in the Night – I quite like the cover and I hope it lives up to the first book. I actually liked Laia as well, though she did take a while for me to love. I want more Heleneee. 😛

    My auto-buy author right now is I think V. E. Schwab/Victoria Schwab. I’m just so obsessed with her world-building. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

