Two Can Keep a Secret If One of Them is Dead: See How They Run

IMG_6125“I don’t know where I am.”

With all the international chaos going on right now (*cough* Brexit *cough*) I felt that this review was especially appropriate. Again, I also want to round that 7.5 up to an 9. I think I was in a super bad mood when I wrote this board. Also, I apologize for the lack of reviews on here! I promise I won’t lag this much this week.

Ever since her mother’s death, Grace Blakely has been desperate to find out the truth.She thought it would bring her peace and answers. Instead, the truth has made her a target, and the past could kill her if she doesn’t kill it first. If she doesn’t, she’s not the only one who will get hurt. On Embassy Row, power can make you a victor or victim, love can make you a fool or fugitive, and family can either help you or bury you. Truth is a rare luxury, and death lurks in every corner. Sometimes, secrets are just better left in the dark.

See How They Run was just ten times more everything. If All Fall Down was PLL intense, See How They Run was R rated horror movie intense, creepy(ish) cults and all. The level of suspense for me at least was just off the charts, but I found myself liking it more and more. Remember how I said that small missteps had big ramifications yesterday? In this book, those consequences are blatantly obvious, and they are never benevolent. While All Fall Down was more about Grace’s inner turmoil, See How They Run showed just how much her actions affect everyone else: we really do see them all fall down. The increasingly twisted politics were more prevalent in this book, and I really enjoyed that. But that’s not to say Grace and her own personal struggles were sidelined. No, they were still a main component, and for much of the book, Grace is still trying to deal with all the horrific revelations she received in the first book. I think Ally Carter really handles this trauma well because it is not just brushed aside; we see Grace struggling with it, and that’s okay. It’s really important to get the message across that it’s okay to struggle. Also, the romance felt a lot more advanced here in a way that was organic to the plot, so props for that! Finally, that ending a cliffhanger! I did not see that coming at all: it was a total curveball.

Honestly, as excited as I am for Take the Key and Lock Her Up, I’m a bit scared of how much it’s going to break me and my fragile heart. See How They Run was just almost too much to handle (in a good way), so book 3 will definitely not be all smooth sailing!

Leave a Reply

