Wild West Mythology: Rebel of the Sands

IMG_6074“They said the only folks who belonged in Deadshot after dark were the ones who were up to no good.”

First of all, a huge thank you to Tessa from @mouireads and her Read with Tessa GR book club! I’ve had this book on my TBR list for a while now, but I pushed it to the top of my list because it was the book of the month! Having the Ebook she sent me right on my phone didn’t hurt either.

There were so many things I loved about this book, but I’m going to start with critiques first. While I love the desert setting and all the mythology surrounding it, there were some parts that seemed out of place like the shootouts and the Western vibe in general. I didn’t know that this was supposed to be a Western story though, so that may have influenced my suggestions. I didn’t hate the stereotypical Wild West vibes, but I do think they could have been integrated a little more smoothly. My second issue is that parts of the book were a little bit slow, but the slow spots were not very many. The biggest dead part was probably about the second quarter of the book. I think. Don’t quote me on that. I’d say the book really picks up in about the last third, and that’s when it starts to really get a fantasy sort of vibe. Speaking of fantasy, I loved all the mythical elements such as Djinni that were woven in. I’ve always had a fascination with them, and I loved that they were an integral part of the story. I also loved the detailed characters, especially Jim, although my suspicions about who he actually was were proven wrong! Amani was an enjoyable character for the most part, and I liked reading the book from her perspective, even if there were times I wanted to punch her in the face. I liked her character growth in the last part of the book a lot, although I do wish it was more gradual. Finally, I really liked the desert aspect of the book. There’s just something so intense about it, and it usually is a place where people are changed and go through self-discovery. At least in a lot of literature it is. This was definitely true with this book, and nothing was as it seemed!
All in all, I definitely recommend this book to those who like desert settings, a tale that almost reads like a myth itself, and the Wild West!

2 thoughts on “Wild West Mythology: Rebel of the Sands

Leave a Reply

