Arabian Nights: The Wrath and the Dawn Duology

IMG_6002

Ming the panda is here, and that means it’s time to induct this fabulous duology by Renee Ahdieh into my All-Time Favorites list. I mean, you shouldn’t be surprised, since I’ve already raved about them for two consecutive days. I’ll try to keep this short because if you want to know more about the books individually, check those reviews out!


My favorite part of these books is the characters. There is such a wonderful array of people, none of them alike. Of course, my favorites were Shahrzad and Khalid. Shahrzad was so witty, intelligent, and actually slightly amusing. Her confidence was awe-inspiring, but this tough interior actually held a fierce love for her family, friends, and husband. Khalid was also super sweet under a stone cold façade, although his rage when someone harmed his loved ones, especially Shahrzad, was terrifying. The chemistry between these two was undeniable, and the lengths they were willing to go for each other were almost unbelievable. The so-called supporting characters too had wonderful backstories, and the point of view of the books allowed for some interesting insights. It was written in the third person from different people’s perspectives, allowing the reader to gain see the other side of events. The events of this book were well-paced, with enough twists to keep you engaged but not too many to make your head spin. The storytelling and actually quality of the writing were also phenomenal; I was hooked from the first sentence to the last punctuation mark. This writing was also put to good use in the setting descriptions. The scene were beautifully painted: so vivid that I felt transported to Khorasan itself! Awe was not the only emotion I experienced though. This duology was a rollercoaster of emotions, full of joy and pain and every emotion in between.

Okay, that was not as short as I thought it would be. Honestly though, I can’t think of a reason why you would not want to read The Wrath and the Dawn/The Rose and the Dagger. Ok, maybe one. They will give you a major book slump. Case in point: me. I haven’t read a book since Sunday. (I know, the horror!) But I promise you, it will be more than worth it in the end. Go forth and read!

3 thoughts on “Arabian Nights: The Wrath and the Dawn Duology

Leave a Reply

