The Darkness Begins to Stare Back: A Court of Mist and Fury

IMG_5911“Maybe I’d always been broken and dark inside.”

That first line alone sets a precedent for a much darker and definitely more emotional story of Feyre. After my relatively harsh review of A Court of Thorns and Roses, you might see why I had lower expectations for this book. However, A Court of Mist and Fury really surpassed my expectations, and I think it is actually my favorite Maas book.

*Spoilers for A Court of Thorns and Roses* Feyre has barely survived her encounter Amarantha, and she now returns to the Spring Court at a high cost. High Fae though she may be, her heart remains human, unable to deal with the terrible deeds she was forced to perform Under the Mountain. On top of this, Feyre is unable to forget her bargain with Rhysand, the feared Night Court’s High Lord. Navigating its politics, passion, and power, she discovers that Amarantha was only the beginning; an even greater evil looms. Feyre has the ability to saving her world and future, but only if she can harness her gifts, heal her soul, and make her own path. *Spoilers over*

I could find nothing wrong with the book except for the overload of feels and my annoyance with Tamlin, which is not the fault of Maas but rather a result of recent experiences and certain previously hidden flaws. I finally realized how much of a control freak he actually was (sorry Tamlin fans) and this cleared the path for hardcore Feysand shipping instead. One of the best things about this new romance and as that it was not one that just came out of the blue; it had a solid background already formed in the previous book. While Feylin may have been a perfect match before, their experiences towards the end of A Court Of Thorns And Roses permanently changed them. I think one of the most important points of this book is that Maas does not simply gloss over the trauma; she instead explores it and even makes it a major plot point. Speaking of characters, there were also a host of wonderful characters introduced (and a few unsavory ones), all with complex backstories. My favorite was Mor, but I also just loved Amren, Cassian, and Azriel. In addition, the setting descriptions are amazingly vivid, especially those of the Night Court!

Also, if you have already read this book, can we just discuss how perfect that last line is? It is so full of drama and so intimidating, yet no cliffhanger! I think this lack of a cliffhanger is actually what made it so powerful.

So for those hesitant to continue this series or even start it, I promise you that this book is truly worth your time. You will laugh, you will cry, you will rage and you will worry, but above all, you will feel.

3 thoughts on “The Darkness Begins to Stare Back: A Court of Mist and Fury

    • thebookpandas says:

      Thank you for sharing your review with me! I will definitely check it out. While I didn’t hate ACOTAR, it definitely didn’t meet my Maas expectations, but ACOMAF was just pure genius.

      Like

Leave a Reply

