Death Doesn’t Hesitate: Before I Fall

IMG_5820.JPG

“They say that just before you die your whole life flashes before your eyes, but that’s not how it happened for me.”

What happens when we die? This is a question that has been asked throughout human history. When I saw Lauren Oliver’s take on this question, I decided to pick up When I Fall. I’ve read her Delirium series before, and I while I liked the initial premise, I didn’t really like the way the story went. However, I did like the style of her writing, so I decided to give this book a chance, and I was pleasantly surprised.

Cupid Day is supposed to be one of the best days of popular high school senior Samantha Kingston’s life. It’s supposed to be filled with roses and love and Valentines, and it is, until she dies in a terrible car accident that night. Samantha wakes up the next morning, and relives the last day of her life seven times, discovering that even the smallest changes can have huge effects.

I really loved the ideas of the book, and it also raised some really interesting questions and points. It made me really realized how much our actions affect our future. It was also a powerful message about how much we can change others as well as how we don’t really know other people until we’ve stood in their shoes. Finally, it was a nice reminder that while it doesn’t cost much to be nice, it can change worlds. My only complaint about this book was that Samantha really annoyed me. I don’t know why, but she did. However, once I got over this and got more used to her, I was able to really get into the book.

One thought on “Death Doesn’t Hesitate: Before I Fall

Leave a Reply

