Dingleberries and Dumping: An Abundance of Katherines

IMG_5850.JPG

“The morning after noted child prodigy Colin Singleton graduated from high school and got dumped for the nineteenth time by a girl named Katherine, he took a bath.”

Today I will take a break from my marathon of Sarah J. Maas reviews to give you a summary of my impressions of An Abundance of Katherines. I would say that this book sorely disappointed me, but I cannot truthfully say that I had high expectations for it. To be honest, I’ve never really been a huge fan of John Green’s books for some reason. While I loved Looking for Alaska, I thought that The Fault in our Stars was merely okay, and I absolutely hated Paper Towns. However, I thought I owed it to this author to read one of his earlier books, so I did.

Colin Singleton only has one type: girls named Katherine who always dump him. After the nineteenth Katherine dumps him, the child prodigy and his best friend embark on a road trip miles away from home to a town called Gutshot. Colin is on a mission to create and prove his Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability, which he hopes will predict the future of any relationship, making him matter in the world. Love, friendship, and some other unexpected factors all contribute to this story of personal growth.

I almost did not finish this book. If not for my commitment to finishing every book I read unless I absolutely despise it, this book would never have been completed. It moved excruciatingly slowly, and while I liked some characteristics of the main character, such as his anagramming and his math skills, he was just wayyy too whiny for my taste. The ending felt too anticlimactic, although I did enjoy pondering some of the final sentiments expressed. My favorite part of the book was the footnotes. I loved seeing all the additional, extraneous, and sometimes quite unrelated tidbits on the bottom, where I could refer to them if need be or ignore them if I want to.

It could be that this book was simply not meant for me, so do not let my negative review and low rating stop you. However, if you are looking for a fast-paced, life changing story, then trust me when I say that this novel is not meant for you.

Leave a Reply

