The King’s Champion: Crown of Midnight

IMG_5810“The shutters swinging in the storm winds were the only sign of her entry.”
Just that first sentence promises so much action and suspense. As I said yesterday, I breezed through Throne of Glass and launched right into Crown of Midnight. I had high expectations for this book given how good the debut book was, and I was definitely not disappointed. Crown of Midnight was just as action packed and thrilling as its predecessor, and starts out right where the previous events ended.

*Possible spoilers for Throne of Glass* Celaena barely won the brutal competition to become the champion of Adarlan’s twisted king, but she is far from loyal to the crown. She knows her new master is as evil as can be, but she must hide her secrets very carefully. The assassin is not the only one with her views, but mysteries abound and nobody is above suspicion. Celaena herself has been doubted by many, including Crown Prince Dorian, Captain of the Guard Chaol Westfall, and her best friend Princess Nehemia. However, just when things seem to be taking a turn for the better, everything shatters in one unspeakably tragic night. As Celaena’s world is irrevocably changed, she must give up those most precious to her and decide once and for all what she is willing to fight for.

Sarah J. Maas’s writing skills continued to be phenomenal, and it was amazing to see how quickly she was able to shift my perspective. I went from hard-core shipping Celaena with Dorian to thinking Celaena and Chaol were destined to be. It was so weird; like a switch had been flipped in my head! I also loved the continuing mystery in the book because just when you think the problems have been solved, something else comes up, usually even worse than the previous problem. The end of this book was heartbreaking for me, but it left enough possibilities that I could hope for my desired outcome in the next book.

I don’t really have much else to say other than that again, I love this series so much! There is never a dull moment, and every book leaves me hungry for more.

Leave a Reply

