3. Welcome to Nevernever: The Iron Fey Series


If you’ve read a Midsummer Night’s Dream, then you already know a fair share of the main characters in Julie Kagawa’s The Iron Fey Series. On Meghan Chase’s eighteenth birthday, her little brother Ethan is kidnapped by faeries. Meghan embarks on a life-changing journey through Nevernever, or the faery realm, with only a small backpack of provisions and her best friend, Robbie Goodfell, by her side. But nothing is as it seems with the fae, and Meghan soon learns this the hard way. She is soon caught in a struggle between two ancient faerie courts, while an unknown entity attempts to unravel the very fabric of Faery. With the path to Ethan fraught with danger, startling discoveries, a mysterious boy, will Meghan truly be the same when-if- she returns to the real world?

Julie Kagawa weaves a beautiful world both strange and captivating, and of course magical. Many well-known legends such as Puck, Oberon and Titania from a Midsummer Night’s dream; Queen Mab from Romeo and Juliet; and the Big Bad Wolf from many of the Grimm’s fairy tales make appearances throughout the books. Besides the beautiful imagery and interesting cameos, my favorite part of this series was the characters. Yes, there is a love triangle. No, it isn’t boring. This is due to the background of the two competing boys, and their history together makes the whole affair more tragic. But while the romance was definitely a selling point, I really enjoyed Meghan’s journey of personal growth. Back in the real world, Meghan is a shy, unassuming girl who was always bullied and usually unsure of herself. But by being thrust into a crazy new reality, she is forced to reinvent herself. By the end of the series, Meghan is a strong, confident young woman who knows who she is and what she wants.

In summary, if you are someone who loves faeries, magic, and romance all mushed together into one beautiful (though sometimes heartbreaking) read, go grab these books now!!!



2 thoughts on “3. Welcome to Nevernever: The Iron Fey Series

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s